Trial began December 18, 2023. Support Jimmy Lai today.

Show your support by using the hashtag #FreeJimmyLai


Jimmy Lai's unwavering dedication to his faith, free speech, human rights, and democratic values has earned him numerous awards and recognitions. Despite facing immense challenges, his contributions continue to inspire and impact people worldwide. Join us in acknowledging and commemorating Jimmy Lai's remarkable achievements and enduring legacy.


Honorary Citizenship

French City of Lyon ; December 9, 2023

The City of Lyon awarded honorary citizenship to five figures committed to the defense of human rights.

Acceptance Speech
SJL-Award-Magnitsky Awards_

Outstanding Journalist Award

Magnitsky Human Rights Awards ; November 16, 2023

The Magnitsky Awards began in 2015 as a way to recognize brave journalists, politicians and activists in the field of human rights.

Acceptance Speech
SJL-Award-Milton Friedman Prize

The Milton Friedman Prize for Advancing Liberty

Cato Institute ; May 18, 2023

The Milton Friedman Prize for Advancing Liberty is presented every other year to an individual who has made a significant contribution to advance human freedom.

Acceptance Speech

Kenneth Y. Tomlinson Award for Courageous Journalism

The Fund for American Studies ; November 15, 2022

The Kenneth Y. Tomlinson Award for Outstanding Journalism was established in 2015 to recognize a journalist who has exhibited excellence in reporting and a determination to present the truth, often against tough odds.

Acceptance Speech
SJL-Award-Catholic University

Honorary Degree

The Catholic University of America ; May 12, 2022

The honorary degree was used to honor Lai as he credited his work to his devotion to the Catholic faith.

Diploma Acceptance
SJL-Award-World Association of Newspapers

Golden Pen of Freedom Award

World Association of News Publishers ; December 1, 2021

The award recognizes the outstanding action, in writing or deed, of an individual, a group or an institution in the cause of press freedom.

Acceptance Speech
SJL-Award-committee to protect journalists

Gwen Ifill Press Freedom Award

Committee to Protect Journalists ; November 18, 2021

The award is presented annually to an individual who has shown extraordinary and sustained achievement in the cause of press freedom.

Acceptance Speech
SJL-Award-National Constitution Center

Liberty Medal

National Constitution Center ; September 21, 2021

The award recognizes freedom of speech, non-violent resistance, and peaceful dissent International freedom fighters.

Acceptance Speech
SJL-Award-National Catholic Prayer Breakfast

Christifideles Laici Award

National Catholic Prayer Breakfast ; September 14, 2021

The award was established in 2019 to individuals who serve the Church; specifically, “iIn Honor and Gratitude for Fidelity to the Church, Exemplary Selfless and Steadfast Service in the Lord’s Vineyard.”

Acceptance Speech
SJL-Award-Truman-Reagan Medal of Freedom

Truman-Reagan Medal of Freedom

Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation ; June 11, 2021

The Truman-Reagan Medal of Freedom is awarded to those who have demonstrated a lifelong commitment to freedom and democracy and opposition to communism and all other forms of tyranny.

Acceptance Speech

Press Freedom Award: Special Prize

Reporters Without Borders ; December 8, 2020

The award is for particularly courageous, impactful and independent journalism. The award honors all those who, despite the most adverse circumstances, keep a close eye on those in positions of power.

Acceptance Speech
SJL-Award-Faith and Freedom_

Faith and Freedom Award

Acton Institute ; November 18, 2020

The award recognizes an individual who exemplifies commitment to faith and freedom through outstanding leadership in civic, business, or religious life.

Acceptance Speech